Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

12-16-03

Romance is not truth but a delightful and necessary holiday from common sense. "Letters on Chivalry and Romance" (1762)

Between a plethora of trashy romance novels, and a bunch of classic romantic comedies on cable I'm just about up to here indicates tip of nose. I enjoy the movies that honour the fast talking, fast thinking dame of the late 1930s and early 1940s. Boy, talk like that now and they can't get away from you fast enough. Believe me, I know.

I was talking on the phone the other day with a friend who said that I should come out with them for New Year's. I agreed, saying that if I spend much more time by myself I'm going to get really strange. She laughed and said that I was all ready strange. "Yeah," I said, "I know that, but I mean really strange." I'll get to watch everyone kiss each other at the New Year, again. At least I won't be with a guy who doesn't want to kiss me, but also doesn't want anyone else to kiss me either.

It'll be nice to get out though.

It's time for a break from the romance novels. I splurged and got myself "The Guerilla Girls' Bedside Companion to the History of Western Art" which looks like fun. There's what looks like a Rubens nude on the front cover with a bad gorilla mask Photoshopped onto its head, and three little putti fluttering above. Quite enjoyable, I should think. That and a class of decent cabernet are a recipe for a lovely evening.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter