Franklin Jones "Honest criticism is hard to take, particularly from a relative, a friend, an acquaintance or a stranger."

Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

01-13-04

Strange. My father and I have been e-mailing after a long time of not speaking. I told him that writing is my thing. He said that writing seemed to be my preordained path, considering how much I've read over the years.

Then he read my blogs and it was strange. He thinks that my expository style is good and that sometimes I'm pretentious. My first reaction was wounded pride, like it was an attack. I took a deep breath and realized that he took me seriously enough to read some of my work and give his opinion. He's right, sometimes I am pretentious. Oooo. Argh. Ouch! Criticism is hard, and it's easy to fall into just going for the ego-stroke. As a writer, that leads nowhere and I want to get better. People who take the time and effort to be honest are rare.

In the end, I'd feel more slighted if I'd just gotten an indulgent nod. I have to get over myself. *laugh*

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter