"Of all noises, I think music is the least disagreeable." ~ Samuel Johnson

Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

02.02.05

After so nearly missing Hiss&Tell's kind invitation for the questionaire of 3s, I cannot overlook this from crazy4muffin. It'd be gauche, neh?

Here goes~

Part the First: Ten Random Songs

Instructions: Put your MP3 player on "shuffle" and list the first ten songs that play, no matter how embarrassing.

Like crazy4muffin, I have no MP3 player. However, like crazy4muffin, I do have CDs.

I'm being a cat ottoman. I'll be restricted by that.

Okay here are ten that I can see, in no particular order:

1- Bombay 2: Electric Vindaloo
2- Tantra Lounge
3- Very Best of Edith Piaf
4- Pink Martini Sympathique
5- Ry Cooder, Manuel Galban Mambo Sinuendo
6- Pizzicato5 Made in USA
7- Racketeers The Racketeers
8- Fugazi In on the Kill Taker
9- Hossam Ramzy Best of Om Khaltoum
10- Cheb Mami Meli Meli

Part the Second: Question and Answer Section. What is the total amount of music files on your computer?

An almost unheard of zero. None. Zilch. Nada. Bupkus. Zip. Zed. Nary a music file to be found. Noises, yes. Music, no.

The last CD you bought was:

Oh my goodness...move, cat...hmmmm...I bought three CDs the last time I bought. I got:

Esquivel Cabaret Manana
Rough Guide to Japanese Music
and something...damn...I can't remember.

What is the song you last listened to before beginning this meme?

From Dread Zeppelin (yes, Dread) (they do Led Zep songs to a reggae beat and have an Elvis impersonator singer, uhm, stylist), "Stairway to Heaven."

Part the Third: Write down five songs you often listen to or that mean a lot to you.

1- "Sweet Home Alabama" Lynyrd Skynyrd. Maybe it's my south of the y'ouse all/y'all line upbringing but there's something about Southern rock that talks to me.
2- "1812 Overture" Particularly the version with the Cincinnati Orchestra and Erich Kunzl conducting. Real church bells, real cannon. At the end, when the old Russian national anthem comes on, I almost always cry. I guess because it's so jaunty, so happy, and so hopeful.
3- Lou Reed "Perfect Day" This is the perfect I-feel-so-crappy-and-depressed song. It's ironic, see? Being depressed makes my meagre wit even more dry and incomprehensible.
4- Patsy Cline "Never No More" "Never no more will I be all alone. Never no more will I be a stay-at-home. 'Cause I got me somebody, who makes me happy when I'm blue." I sing it when I'm feeling sassy and saucy. It's especially pleasing when I am the somebody who makes me happy when I'm blue.
5- Queen (yes, crazy4muffin, you ain't the only one) "Don't Stop Me Now."

Part the Third: Name three artists/bands you adore

Misfits- many ties to my mis-spent youth. I turn to them when I'm feeling the need to be riled up and aggro. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

Elvis- the king. The big EP, hisse'f. I made the Hound Dog Hadj back in the 1980s. Drove from DC to Memphis with my then-roommate LS, my one-time manager, now friend, V., and another one-time manager, now friend, D. Went to Graceland. Went to Beale Street. Made the rounds and offered our obeisances to the king of rock 'n roll. Had other friends who celebrated Elvis' birthday with a party every year. And you don't think that Chriskwasolyulekah ends on Elvis' birthday out of coincidence, do you? Or that I arbitrarily chose it as KaliHellKitty's birthday? Unh-unh.

Doors- When the rest of my peace/love/garbanzo beans high school was listening to the Grateful Dead, I listened to the Doors. I don't know what (if anything) it says about me. Still, "Wishful, Sinful" makes me happy. I like the hits, "Light My Fire", "Riders in the Storm", etc. and I like the more obscure pieces.

Musically, I am a dork and a dweeb. If I answered this at another time, the answers would have been different. My musical tastes change. I am easily bored. Some days it's classical European, other days it's big band/swing, other days it's old school punk, Tuvan throat singing, Japanese enka...

Part the Fourth: Pass this stick to three persons and explain why:

Nice Guy Mike; because I know what he eats and does in his spare time and wonder, is there a soundtrack?

Dicentrah; because I needs me some o' dat east coast viewpoint, yo.

ms-do; because I want to know what her soundtrack is as she buzzes about dealing with life, the universe and everything.

Now I'm going to collapse. Damn cold.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter