"Fate chooses your relations, you choose your friends." -Jacques Delille

Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

02.04.05

Still in the crappy cold doldrums. Getting flakier by the moment (that's today's excuse--I'll have to be more creative when I'm over the cold) and looking forward to a wild weekend of sleeping, reading and watching the Superbowl.

Just got a lovely e-mail from a dear friend. He called me his sister which, to this only child, is a high compliment. He also says that I saved his life...dang.

That's humbling, neh?

I had no idea, all the way through high school and after. We lost contact for a while, I don't know why. Really. I can't remember.

I remember doing a thing at the insect zoo at the Natural History museum at the Smithsonian with him. *laugh* I remember touring the Hall of Evolution and looking at the cockroach kitchen. The premise was what if every cucaracha born, survived? My friend helped glue a bazillion insects for the display. He even pointed out that as the people doing it got more and more loopy from staying up too long and huffing (inadvertently) too much glue, they started doing things like make their initials with glue and roaches. He pointed out his initials. For years after I'd walk by the display and see them. Pointed them out to other friends and co-workers, too.

I ran into him again at a concert at GW's Smith Center--the Hoodoo Gurus--and he was working sound. It was great to catch up, see how his life was going. Married. Happy.

I was glad.

We've stayed in touch over the years, sometimes sporadically, sometimes more regularly. That's life, neh?

I am the luckiest girl.

*smile*

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter