Happy birthday to Mary Wollstonecraft

Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

04.27.05

Mater's surgery went well. In the doctor's words, It could not have gone more easily or smoothly. Now she gets to drink fluids until she sloshes, strain her urine for little broken up bits of kidneystones, and be amazed at the technicolor quality of her urine. The colouring is due to drugs and the indignities that her kidney was subjected to today. Or so her doctor told me when he called.

We decided to put away her will when we got back to the house. I suggested that it might need updating, considering that it's from 1983.

Hang on.

Okay. Had to make a quick dash to the garage for Mater. That's where she keeps the green tea.

Where was I?

Oh. What a day. Worked at the shop for a full shift--not the weenie four or so hours that I regularly work. I photocopied, drilled holes in paper, folded brochures (with Pete, the Paper-Folding Machine of Doom), cut reams, jockeyed and woman-handled boxes of paper, wrestled with the laminator, answered the phone, and called up my alternate persona, Susie Retail.

Personal triumph? The cash register came out to the penny. Sure, it's a small thing, but I'm pleased.

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrr. I am SO butch. Or sumpin'.

O!O!O! Yesterday evening I went over to Alberta Street in order to check out the Broken Word poetry reading. I got over there too early, so I had dinner at a Thai restaurant. MMM-mmm-mmh! Pineapple curry with shrimp accompanied by the latest issue of Archaeology magazine. It's nice to treat myself to dinner out. The waitron was doing a crossword puzzle (Tuesday nights aren't exactly hoppin', y'know?). She looked up and asked if I knew who Jason's lover/helper was. I said Medea. Then doubted it, because I was getting Jason and the Argonauts confused with the Odyssey. Fortunately, the E was in the correct place in the puzzle. And I checked it when I got back to the house last night.

Isn't that sad? But shit like that keeps me up at night.

After dinner, I went to the Alberta Street Public House. I was surprised/pleased to see some people I know. Listened to some poetry. Treluv showed up. After the poet-ing, we went to his girlfriend's (and my friend, Binkie's) house for more conversation and laughter. Binkie, Bix, Chatterbox, EnEl, Treluv and I talked. Bix, long may she wave, gave me a shoulder rub and yummy scalp skritch.

Damn. How long has it been since someone's rubbed my shoulders and been concerned about my comfort? I don't even know.

It was a lovely treat. And I'm lucky to have friends like these.

Now it's time to sit and read. I went to the library yesterday and picked up a bunch of David Mamet plays. I'm looking forward to his mastery of American speech. I got Glengarry, Glen Ross, American Buffalo, Goldberg Street, The Cryptogram, Speed-the-Plow, Edmond, Reunion and Dark Pony. Whee!

Y'all be fabulous, y'hear?

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter