Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

07.29.05

I can�t figure out whether it�s pathetic or triumphant to be so pleased that I managed to fold 1,350 tri-fold brochures and only destroyed seven. Petey O�Doom has been most lovely today. Also collated 1,000 entry kits for the Grand Nationals Hot Rod and Custom Shows, and have 4,000 related forms to collate on Monday.

Of course, being Friday, everyone has realized that their printing needs to be done before they leave work. Today. If I were a mistress of the space/time continuum there might be a chance that�d happen. But I ain�t. Here�s a word of advice about dealing with printing/copy shops�don�t wait until the last minute! These things take some time and, despite what Xerox, Ricoh, or other document companies may tell you, you�ve GOT to allow for it. If there�s more than printing involved, there�s a lot of hand work in it too.

It�s like people who think that animation takes 10 minutes. Uhm, no. It ain�t like it is in the movies. People seem to be so intent on getting things faster and faster�what does that accomplish? I�ll tell you; stress, anger, mistakes, and accidents.

I guess that�s what we get with an economic model that depends on infinite expansion, infinite resources, and an infinite number of consumers.

Speaking of consumers, I went to an Aveda shop to buy hair conditioner. (Yes, I�m embarrassed, but it�s the only stuff that my hair likes. Since I�m growing the whole mess out so I can eventually be the old lady belly dancer with the long, grey braid, quality counts.) I walk into the shop, with its bamboo floors and fountain burbling in the corner (makes me wanna pee, don�t understand the attraction at all), and the clerk rushes over to pour me a wee paper cup of tea. I stopped her, saying thank you, but that I just wanted to buy conditioner and look, here it is in my hand. I don�t go to a shop wanting an Experience. If I�m in a shop, it�s because I want to buy something. I�ll find my own experiences, thankyouverymuch.

Years ago, my pater and wife (v.2.0�bigger, stronger, and more Catholic) went to Big, Black Rat World in Florida. Did you know that they�ve got �picture spots� marked with signs so the tourons can take perfectly composed pictures? Wouldn�t want to ruin one�s trip with a genuine experience of a real event, or the recording of such. Then again, these are the same people who go to the ersatz Epcot center and believe that they�re having a real, international experience.

Great fetid dingo�s kidneys!

Goodness.

It�s continued warm and breezy. I�m happy as a pig in poo. Looking forward to an evening of science fiction geekin� and playing with the G-Twist. Better stop and get batteries�

Go. Be fabulous.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter