Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

08.25.05

We get a societal cross-section running through the shop. From ee-veel corporate overlords, to young musicians starting out. We get entrepeneurs, young brides, artists, writers, and little old gentlemen and ladies. I've seen everything from well-readings for radiation levels in Eastern Oregon *shudder*, to screenplays, to artists' show postcards, to GPO copies for the Bureau of Indian Affairs.

I enjoy the diversity, most of the time. But, like any relationship, I love 'em, and sometimes I want to kick 'em in the head.

We had a project for a local Baptist church. The pastor wanted postcards made to invite people in the area to attend services. He came in yesterday afternoon to pick up his order. He asked,
"If you got one of these, would you come to services?" I smiled and diplomatically replied,
"They're quite eye-catching, yet dignified. I think that you'll get some interest from the neighbours."
"You know," he said, "You're welcome to come too."

I didn't have the heart to tell him that he'd be more likely to find a pre-Vatican II nun stripping in a titty bar than to find me in a Baptist church. Weddings and funerals excepted, of course.

If he'd pursued my attendence, I'd have replied,
"I appreciate that you want to share something that makes you feel so good. It's very generous of you. However, I have a different set of beliefs. Please respect my right to believe as I see fit, as I respect your right to do the same."

Y'know, having little set-pieces can make it a wee bit simpler.

I went out last evening for conversation and ended up having dinner with some acquaintances. One of the quotes that came up (laws, we's all litermanary an' shit) was something quoted from the Watchmen, something along the lines of--if the world had only one neck and I had my hands wrapped around it. (I'm making a hash of it.) We knew that Rorschach's line came from an older quotation, and there was some discussion as to who had said it.

I opted for Gaius Caesar (a.k.a. Caligula, Roman emperor 12CE-41CE); in the dusty recesses of my brain it lit a musty, damp fuse. I looked it up today and found this:

"Would that the Roman people had a single neck [to cut off their head]."
from Suetonius--though the quotation doesn't note whether it's from Lives of the Caesars or another work.

Ho-hum. I suppose I'd best go be productive. La, la, la.

Go. Be fabulous.

'Cause y'are.

*grin*

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter