Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

05.18.06

Tango'd last night at Nocturnal. I wasn't very good. But it was fun. Since I'm working later hours, I hope to go dancing more regularly.

Chris, bless his chin, gave me some useful pointers. We also did a couple of exercises. One was that we danced with only my left arm along his right arm. It was up to me to maintain connection. Y'see, connection is what makes tango beautiful. The second exercise was dancing chest to chest. (Damn good thing that I'm not body shy, and that Chris is a good, good friend.) Difficult, and wonderfully instructive.

Later, when I dropped him off to meet his woman, we talked for a bit. He was sweet, asking if I minded that he suggested the exercises.

"I have no pride when it comes to dance," I said.
"You mean you've got enough pride to want to be good."
"Yeah. I know I'm not good right now, but I know I can get better."

He gave me a pep talk. He said that I progressed so rapidly before my hiatus, that a couple of months of regular dancing would put me where I was when I stopped. That I was a good follow. (Yay!) And that, in a short while, I'd be one of the ones that always gets asked to dance. *grin*

I also danced with a couple of other leads. It's a good way to learn. Sticking with just one partner is ridiculous. Of course, there are those who cannot differentiate between a social dance and a relationship. I think it's insecurity.

I swear this town has some of the most insecure people I've ever met.

Last night, after tango and talk, I went to the acme. Walked in. There was a guy with large, plastic lobsters attached to himself and the mic stand standing on stage, singing. Dull, middle-of-the-road, guitar and vocals. Amusing visually.

Todd came over for a beer. We sat outside and watched a bunch of helicopters hovering. Turns out that there was one hell of a warehouse (Taylor Electric) fire just a few blocks away.

Hmph. Gads, I love broadband. Just checked out the local news report on their website. Dang. Helluva fire. Over 100 firefighters, flames shooting up to about 150'. The best thing is that no one was hurt. Phew.

That's all for now. Be fabuloso.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter