Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

06.20.06

Woke this morning with cramps like a blue whale was sitting on me. Very annoying. And, for the first time ever, I called in to work.

Okay. I really couldn't deal with what passes for wit in the corporate world. If I ever hear a complaint about Mondays again...well, we're talking body parts. And that's not conducive to good tipping, eh?

Spent most of today wearing a heating pad like a protective shield. Switching it from front to back as the pain moved. I mean, the pain didn't really move. I hurt from front to back--just that the heat helped the sensation lessen long enough for me to relax just a bit. Perhaps there's some sort of rotisserie thing I can rig up.

Watched DVDs and read dirty books. Because along with the cramps comes the wanting to screw like a bunny experience. Good thing I'm so choosy, otherwise there'd be trouble. Not fun trouble, bad trouble.

Re-watched Versus and liked it just as much. Also watched Hellevator: Bottled Fools (Japanese title:Gusher No Binds Me). It takes place in a futuristic society that's completely controlled by Surveillance. The bulk of the story occurs on an elevator that transports people to and from the different levels/cities in this world.

Made by a very young director, the film is visually exciting. The aesthetic is analog futuristic (think Terry Gilliam's Brazil). Everything looks grimy and used, but technologically advanced.

The main character, Luchino, is a psychic schoolgirl with a troubled past. Various characters move in and out of the elevator; such as a grandmother and her grand-daughter (who has a human brain in a jar as a pet), a mother and her baby, carbon copy salarymen, and a mysterious young man. Things proceed until an unscheduled stop at a detention level ushers two psychotic condemned men and their keepers onto the elevator.

Then it gets weird.

What makes it interesting is the forced closeness of the characters. The claustrophic feel of the set pushes the story forward.

There is a lot of violence; some of it quite graphic. Still, it's a compelling story with enough hints of modern day horrors to make it more topical than fantastic.

Hey, I've got a question. I know that there are about 80 bazillion movie review sites out there. I'm feeling saucy though. D'you think I should start a movie review only blog?

It'd certainly help me develop a better reviewing style.

*grin*

Now I'm going to take some more drugs and get ready for Krav Maga class. Yeah, I hurt. But pounding pads is good for the soul.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter