Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

07.12.06

My bike has a name. It's Bub; short for Beeza-Bub. He's named after the semi-sentient zombie in Day of the Dead. Once a zombie-geek, eh?

Tonight I braved the I-5 traffic north to visit Bub. Stuff (Y'know, I'm going to start identifying Stuff as "D", okay? Okay.), D and I took off Bub's seat and the crash bar, and started to remove the rear fender. This is good, the bottom is ripped off and jagged. Torn metal seems to attract arms and legs and other soft, fleshy bits. Not good.

We removed the speedometer from the rear wheel. That took a lot of oomph! and jiggling the pieces until they decided to let go. Happily, the speedo bits were still good and greasy. I'm hoping that the speedo still works--which would rock.

Got a better look at the frame. It looks pretty good. We might be able to avoid stripping it down completely. This is also good, because the engine alone weighs over 136 kilos (300+ lbs). None of us have an engine hoist.

Felt awful butch as I had grease and dirt and black goo all over my handy-dandy latex gloves. When I got home, I saw a great smear under my chin. Bub and I are bonding.

In short, things look better than I expected. It could still go horribly wrong, but my unflagging Pollyanna-ishness won't let me give up.

*grin*

I'm so happy to be doing this. I'm learning, and working with my hands. D is patient as I fumble and drop things. He's not jumping in and taking over. I like that.

Won't be seeing Bub until this weekend (*sigh*).

And that's the latest.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter