Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

07.23.06

I been blooded...erm...paintballed.

Yep. Went out to the woods for a little paintball action today. Got up, into my camouflage trousers and oh-so-butch black, racerback, quick-dry top (which turned out to be a good idea). Gathered my water and nibblies, and headed out to the Tillamook State Forest. (Check out the web cam.)

Overshot the campsite, of course, but not by much. Tora Torakku was pleased. He doesn't get in 4-wheel drive that often.

Got to shoot a bit; a pistol and a carbine. That was terribly butch. Then we got suited up, I borrowed one of J's markers, and we headed down to the playing field. Though it resembled a field only in that it was kind of flattish.

The woods in these parts are classified as temperate rainforest (aka: "cold jungle"), with a lot of moss and ferns. A lot of bio-diversity, most of it buzzing up around our faces at inopportune moments.

Walked the field, so I'd know the boundaries. Went over the rules again. Picked teams, and play began with each team ringing its stencil skull-decorated bell.

*TUNG!*

*crackle crackle*

*TANG!*

*crash* *pop pop pop*

Then silence as we all dug in. Poor C. has the two newbies; me and his girlfriend.

*pop pop pop poppoppopopopopopopopopo*

C: I'm hit!

He walked to the center of the field, marker held up, and plunked down on a fallen log. It was up to S and me to try to grab the flag and run it to the opposite team's bell.

Not that that happened.

I was hunkered down behind a bunker, taking potshots at anything that looked promising. A hail of fire, and I got clocked in the facemask. Which, as it turns out, was the best place to be hit. Which I discovered in the next two games.

Got beaned in the head the next game. There's a paintball-sized lump above my left ear. And in the right arm, as you can see in the picture.

We walked down to the Wilson River and cooled our hot selves down. It's been a long, long time since I played in any river.

This is some of us relaxing on the rocks after our watery adventures.

Back to the campsite, where we broke down the tents, and headed home.

Whee! I'm tired, bruised, a bit sunburnt, and I'm sure I'll be sore tomorrow.

Yay!

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter