Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

2003/11/27

  • Bolshoi Ballerina Dismissed Because of Size
  • *splutter!* I just read this story in "The Scotsman." Seems a ballerina at the Bolshoi was dismissed because she's 5'7" and weighs 7 stone, 8 pounds. I pulled out my trusty dictionary to double-check how much a stone is, did the calculation, and boggled for a moment or three. Then I found an online weight conversion calculator, changed it to a European pound and still I boggled. According to the article, and the figures that I had to work with, she weighs 116.74 U.S. pounds.

    I'm her same height, and I always get yelled at for being too thin when I get much below 125 pounds.

    How weenie are the male dancers? Because apparently her dismissal was at the behest of male dancers who claimed to risk injury when they lifted her.

    Dang.

    Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter