Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

11-28-03

Isn't it funny how much weight people put on appearance?

When I went into a used bookstore last Tuesday afternoon, I was dressed like a student. Slightly baggy pants, layers of clothing, big jacket, messenger bag. I started to go back into the stacks, and got stopped because they wanted to hold onto my bag. No problem -- once I pulled my wallet and mobile out.

I go back to the same shop today, dressed a little more adult (slacks, London Fog long coat, messenger bag). Remembering that they weren't happy with my bag the last time, I walked up to the counter and asked if they'd like to hold my bag. Oh no, they said, Don't worry about it. Hmmm.

I know that we humans tend to pay way more attention to outward appearances, and it's important to know how to play the game. It's strange though, isn't it?

No wonder con artists and politicians place such emphasis on clothing. As if anyone with a little moola couldn't walk into a shop and dress nicely.

That's all. Just call me shallow today.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter