Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

11-29-03

I left the house this afternoon. There was a check to deposit, and library books to take back. I controlled myself and used the book drop. A library is a dangerous place for me, and I've got too much school stuff to do.

I went into a local department store, and staggered back out. Driven away by xmas carols from HELL! Is there a rule that each store is allowed only three carols to play in an endless loop? Thank the deity (or non-deity) of your choice that one of the songs wasn't Little Drummer Boy. I've ranted elsewhere about that demonic, compulsive, pandering song. I'm still deeply scarred from my years of working retail.

I celebrate chriskwasolyulekah. It starts at sundown on the first day of Chanukah, and ends on Elvis' birthday (January 8th). I'd have ended it on Millard Fillmore's birthday, but going for the king's was inelvitable. There are no gifts exchanged in chriskwasolyulekah. However, traditions can be drawn from anywhere. You want latkes and a kinara, knock yourself out. Naked solstice dancing, and a turkey dinner with all the trimmings? Sure! Though I'd advise thick, heavy, cloth napkins in case of splashing gravy.

Remember, a lot of what we in the US consider to be a traditional xmas didn't start until the Victorian Era. Really! Why shouldn't we take what we want, and discard what we don't?

Besides, it's fun to watch salesclerks freak when you say you don't celebrate Christmas, Kwanzaa, the solstice, Yule, or Chanukah. Maybe it's just me.

(Did some editing for style 11/30/03 9:43 am)

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter