Dr. Seuss "I like nonsense, it wakes up the brain cells."

Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

01-04-04

Went to a party last evening; going to parties where everyone's a stranger is stressful. When I walked up to the door, I saw some friends from school. Relief! Most of the members of the Vinos were there. They're the band that I bellydanced with back in December. It seems that I made quite an impression. *laugh* They're still oohing and ahhing. Gracious.

The place was rotten with writers. *Oh happy day* Imagine a party where someone mentions a book they've just read and the other guests pull out notebooks and pens and ask for the title again and the author's name. *big, happy grin* There were several discussions about the current state of mainstream American "literary" writing. Most of us agreed that we're tired of the tyranny of American realism. A woman in a fabulous red coat feels that we're creating readers who must be spoon-fed every bit of information. She felt that the current reading audience is too specialized and incapable of either comprehending or understanding anything that takes any effort. We nodded our heads and sighed.

I gave a copy of my chapbook to the host, C., who seemed pleased. Then he said that he had something for me. ??!Curiousity jangled, I followed him to the "lounge" area that he'd set up. Very simple -- mattress covered with a throw on the floor and a corner desk with writerly stuff on it. C. went to the closet and came out with a sword in a scabbard. Yes ladies and gentlemen, I go to a party and I get a sword.

It's a European-style (based on the Celtic models), one-handed sword (symmetrical, double-edged), decent balance and weight (@ 2 kilos), Damascus steel blade (the Damascus is in a lovely lacy pattern and shows up well in the fuller) and Damascus steel(with fewer folds than in the blade) for the guard and pommel. The grip is woven leather and feels comfortable in the hand. The scabbard is sueded leather over wood with metallic fittings.

What could I say except, "Thank you!" and a big hug? So I said it several times. Surprised, flummoxed, at a loss for words; I didn't know what else to do.

When I left the party in the wee hours, I had my drunken friend E. on one arm and my sword (sheathed, of course) clasped in my other hand. It caused some comment as we left.

Tonight I may try my hand at some poetry reading. *laugh* Like, in public and shit. Have to see how enervated I get.

Tomorrow: First Day of the Winter Term or Oh Shit! What was I Thinking, 19 Credits

Ciao!

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter