Richard Cohen: But we should remember that one man's faith is another's heresy.

Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

01-31-04

Saturday. Hallelujah.

I lolled around in bed until 8:30 this morning. So decadent and so slothful; lying in bed with the Hell Kitty purring and chirruping.

There was a meeting of the newspaper staff this morning at school. Krappy Kreme doughnuts and coffee made the trip worthwhile, along with some fruit.

On my way back to the house and feeling wealthy, I went to the Very Christian thrift store near the Sylvania campus. I got three sweaters and spent less than $8.00.

On the plus side, the clothing at the Very Christian thrift store is well organized, priced reasonably and things are in decent shape. On the negative side, one of the local I-found-god-and-lost-my-sense-of-rhythm radio stations blares from a tinny stereo by the shipping dock. My defence is humming Bach or Beethoven to myself.

Not being conventionally religious, I don't understand the emphasis that some of the people around here place on publicly announcing their faith. Isn't that between the person and their god? I don't know what they're trying to do by claiming their faith. Is it to announce that they're better than the average run of people? Is it to invite discussion and argument? Is it an ego thing?

I should ask. I've got to figure out how to do it without appearing to attack. Nor am I interested in knee-jerk proselytization. I'm curious about the phenomena.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter