Mamet: A good film script should be able to do completely without dialogue.

Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

02-05-04

I worked on the opening scene for the movie script last night. Oh ye gods and li'l fishes.

First, there's no dialogue at all. That scares me. Though I think that trying to establish a geography of this world is important. And because it's not the world that we're used to, dialogue would be distracting.

That's the theory, at any rate.

I'm so annoyed with the damn thing. I can't get the story. There's this amazing world that's been created and I can't do a thing with it. Well, I can, but it's yet another trite revenge story and that's not what I want at all. I really want to do an updated Gilgamesh and it's not panning out. I wonder if I just started writing the Gilgamesh story, using the created world, if that'd get me out of this funk.

In other news, auditions for the one-acts are next Wednesday. I'm going to show up for the last hour or so. It's all cold reading, the directors are using our scripts. It's gonna be weird (and fun) to see how different people do the lines.

JH, my director *laugh* was walking out of his set design class this morning. He has all these interesting ideas for the set -- and I'm excited. Nothing really as I imagined it, but that's totally cool. He's got some things about making the opening sequence more visually interesting that will work well. I see my writing as the skeleton of the play. What skins and accoutrements are chosen are part of the director's vision.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter