Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

04.06.04

Tuesdays and Thursdays this term are science and math. It's fun to exercise those parts of my noggin. How and why the worlds of art and science became split in the popular perception is a mystery. I have to go with Heinlein, that specialization is for insects. We humans are such complex creatures--The glory, jest, and riddle of the world(Pope)--that it seems short-sighted to stifle any part of our natures.

Geology this morning. We had to identify two different formations of minerals. They were both quartz; one was a quartz crystal. The other was milky quartz. I felt very clever-clever. *grin* Thank you Grandma for being an amateur geologist. It's given me a leg up in class. Then we learned about atoms, chemical formulae, and chemical equations. Chemical equations? Hang on, let me check my notes. Oop. Reaction equations, that's the correct term.

Lately I've found myself more sensitive to the smell of cigarette smoke. I hope that I'll have the good sense to stop for good this time. But I'm not gonna freak or try to put too much attention on it.

I finished The DaVinci Code just a bit ago. It was fun and a fast read. I was reminded of Foucault's Pendulum as I read. A lot less Latin, though, which can be a very nice thing. When I read Foucault's Pendulum a while ago, I used my Latin dictionary a lot. Not that I really understood it, but it helped make the story's layers more rich.

Off to take a shower and get ready for algebra this evening. Whoop.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter