McGovern: I'm fed up to the ears with old men dreaming up wars for young men to die in.

Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

05.14.04

Today I finished the last two poems for my spring term chapbook. *smile* It's titled (unless I get a better idea) MMIII-MMIV: Poems from a Year.

One of the two poems is about my inability to write an adequate poem about the moon. The other is an angry, glib poem about my recent (and failed) dip into the dating pool. So sue me. Aren't all artists fantastic at sublimating?

Eats, Shoots & Leaves came today. It's sub-titled The Zero Tolerance Approach to Punctuation. I expect great things from this book. In the heat of the moment I also received Grammatically Correct, a guide to grammar, punctuation, style, usage and spelling for writers.

The mis-use of apostrophes and quotation marks makes my skin itch, my teeth ache and my belly boil. Still, there's more to learn. A lot more.

Oh joy. *happy dance*

Here's a syntactical faux pas that rankles me. There are signs placed around the PCC campus that say, roughly, "The area back of this sign is alarmed after business hours and on weekends." Heavens, I think, What happens during the off hours to cause such consternation? When I say something, I get blank stares.

Oh--go check out marsist for yesterday (5/13/04). There's some good juju goin' on there.

That's it for now. Ciao, y'all.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter