Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

06.08.04

This, for starters:

Which Food Network Chef

are you?

Huh, uh-huh-huh. I'm smart.

I went down to SoCal over the weekend to spend it with Hato-kun. June gloom was being very gloomish. Though Sunday the marine layer cleared out early so we took a drive up the PCH. Everyone and their sibling were out, but once we got past Malibu the traffic got more quiet. I saw a lot of bikers--both real and imaginary (the play-acting ones were in the majority)--and a lot of fancy-schmancy vehicles. The obligatory SUVs with clever vanity tags. Most of the vanity tags alluded to the Business. Gracious, these people are so serious. What's the fun in that? Creative work should be creative.

We almost went to Santa Barbara, but decided against it.

The waves were rocking Sunday afternoon. There were some pretty breaks north of Malibu.

It was interesting, looking at the rock formations, and all the houses ready to slide into ravines or the ocean. A lot of homes had tarpaulins with rocks laying over dubious slopes. That's like going up against a pissed-off black rhino with a piece of wax paper and some spit. The rocks looked sedimentary, but the beds lay at all angles. Of course, it's a geologically active area. I could see sandstone layers in the rocks. They were lighter, more golden-coloured. The bulk of the rocks were reddish.

Monday, I went to Santa Monica and did my usual ritual. (Such a girl!) I got to play at being SoCal babe in a red convertible. The sky's grey, so what? That roof's going down. I went to my favourite cosmetic shop; bought a powerful, red lipstick called "Sex Star." I told the salesclerks that it was false advertising, but hell, I was in the land of dreams and illusion...why shouldn't I? They laughed.

I love to watch the people along the Third Street Promenade, particularly the younger ones who don't know they are yet. Fashion victims thither and yon mixed with homeless people. It's so absurd, all I can do is watch. Everyone is so self-conscious that they move as if they're posing all the time.

It's amazing how much has changed in one short year. They're building on the wetlands of Playa del Rey. Good show, that. *sigh* They're keeping a bit of open land, but it's like the 13x13 patch of the Meadowlands in the parking lot of the Rutherford Sports Complex. Good for show, but doesn't really address the problems of diminishing habitat and fucked up water tables. However, I'm not a multi-billion, multi-national corporation and can't understand the larger business reasons for the building. *ahem*

Got back to the Rose City last night. Of course it was rainy and chilly. HellKitty gave me sixteen different kinds of grief, then forgave me.

It was a good trip. Good to get away for a bit, good to re-check everything in LaLaLand, good to hear what I heard.

Algebra test this evening. It ain't gonna be pretty. *sigh*

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter