Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

06.19.04

I saw a picture today in the newspaper of George W. standing at a podium with the presidential seal and holding a Bible.

"What's wrong with this picture?" I thought. "Oh yes, the separation of church and state. Hmm."

Gran'mater and I talked about family stories all this week. One that makes me proud concerns an ancestor who was a Baptist minister in Virginia--after getting kicked out of Massachusetts. He was a correspondent with Jefferson (or so the story goes) and argued vehemently for the separation of church and state. See? It's just family tradition.


Well, I'm sure that there will be plenty of time for ranting about that.


Another story involving the Baptist minister has him orchestrating the creation of an enormous cheese. It was presented to Jefferson, if I remember correctly. That's more like my ancestors...separation of church and state! and here's a really big cheese!


I go back to Portlandia tomorrow. Flying through Newark will be strange. I think that last time I was there was in...damn...the late 1970s. I wonder if I'll be able to get a glimpse of Manhattan as we land? It would be strange to see the altered skyline--especially since I remember watching the WTC being built.

I don't want to tie up Gran'mater's phoneline, so I'll sign off. Talk to you later--

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter