Happy birthdays to Antoine de Saint-Exup�ry, Ray Harryhausen and George Ellery Hale.

Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

06.29.04

I spent an hour last evening on the air on KBOO, knitting and yapping about poetry, bar culture, Native Americans and assorted other stuff.

Right off the bat the moderator identified me as a groupie of the Subterranean Beat poetry thing. He got corrected immediately, by Trevino and me.

Harrumph.

It was fun though. Now I've got to get off my ass and try to get my latest chapbook into Powell's bookstore.

Mater listened to the broadcast. She thought I should have done some other (read: non-sexual) poems. *sigh* Then this morning, she tells me that she and Gran'mater are worried that I don't have something practical to fall back on.

It's that sort of talk that stopped me from concentrating on writing 20 years ago. I understand that it's motivated by love and concern, but it's also manipulative and deadening. What's life without mistakes, triumphs, scary times and real, ovaries to the wall, risks? It's a sit-com. *bleargh!*

Here's a concept; I've done the practical thing. I've been married, owned real estate, worked a nice, stable, safe job for a decade...everything I'm SUPPOSED to do. All I got was depressed, divorced and disillusioned. Maybe it's time to do what I'm not supposed to do.


Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter