Ellen Glasgow: Women like to sit down with trouble--as if it were knitting.

Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

07.10.04

Sassy chicklet is back. Spent the day with Binkie, knitting and snitting. We even went on a SEX drive (that's a Stash Enrichment eXpedition) to a tiny knitting shop in Hawthorne. It's called the Yarn Barn. The people are really helpful. They have beautiful yarns, tools, books, buttons, golly, everything one could need. I bought some elasticized cotton yarn to knit another slutty bikini top. Perhaps if I'm still feeling saucy, I'll throw up a picture.

Went to a reading last evening at Reading Frenzy. Got there a little late, and the space is tiny. There were people asshole to elbow from wall to wall. A faint miasma of patchouli drifted up from the crowd. I should be grateful that this was a punk event, not a hippie event. Still, one cannot escape the influence, here in Stumptown.

I settled on the floor, next to the counter and just behind a guy sitting on one of those rolly-stools--the round kind that has wheels underneath, but when you put weight on it the rim settles against the floor, making it stable--every time he moved, I risked a severe pinching. I remained vigilant and escaped with no injuries.

The readers were interesting, though the first two were too soft-spoken. The last reader read some powerful stuff--truthful, self-deprecating and funny.

I wonder if there's some way I can create a gallery/performance space that could be profitable? Or self-sustaining, at least. Hmmmm.

Time to get some food. Now that I'm over my freak-out (thanks to Binkie and Dangerspouse) and a long conversation with Hato-kun, I'm finally hungry. Yep.

I'm one of those who don't eat when I get stressed. People have said that they're envious of my affliction. Yeah well, it ain't all that great. Once, during a particularly stressful period, I lost 20 pounds in the blink of an eye. I don't have an extra 20 pounds to cast off. My collar bones were so prominent that I couldn't go into clothing stores, for fear that someone would try to hang something on me. Static from the TV pulled me across the floor.

Yes, food would be good. Something decadent. Something buttery. Something...oh gak...drooling on the keyboard. Better go.


Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter