Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

07.12.04

Today in biology we modeled predator/prey relationships with plastic knives, forks and various beans and legumes. Really.

After strewing the prey (the beans and crap) over a small chunk of very cheap carpet, the predators (students armed with plastic knives and/or forks) attempted to pick up the prey. Then we futzed around with mathematics to figure out ratios and morph frequency in the next generation. Navy beans are a bitch and a half to grab using only a knife in one hand.

The competition amongst the predators grew fierce with taunts and insults flying. Saucy chicklit here finally developed an effective method for grabbing beans by the last round. I wallow in lameness.


Last evening's Subterranean Beat Revival was interesting. Hotter'n'snot in the basement; I didn't get my usual glass o' red. Throwing caution to the winds, I had a Tom Collins. It was delicious and the perfect citrus-y taste that I craved. Even tied the cherry stem with my tongue, making everyone at the table oooh and ahhhh. I'm getting faster, so it's a more impressive skill.

Got up and read a few poems. Selfishly decided to read Super8* 'cause I can and it's been a while. Got one request for my latest chapbook. Three people told me that they heard the KBOO broadcast. They thought that Trevino and I worked well as a contrasting pair. *laugh*

Could I be much more annoying and self-centered? Ach, it's all fun.

Overall, the poetry last evening ran the gamut from wonderful to banal. It's great to hear different people's voices. It's wonderful to hear how the voices change.


Crampin' like a big ol' Charlie horse. Imagine getting a Charlie horse in the middle of your pelvic girdle. Now imagine that everyone acts as if the pain's all in your head. Agh!


*Super8

Super8 outside Sacramento

My cat, freed,

prowls and I

reach for you.

Your belly warms my back.

Your cock rests against my ass.

Your breath stirs my hair.

I've driven eight hours--at least--

I want to be driven

just

a

little

more.


Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter