Happy b-days to Julius Caesar, John Dee, Patrick Stewart, Erno Rubik and Cheech Marin.

Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

07.13.04

Last lab class...last lab class...la la la! We pissed off Siamese fighting fish in order to explore behaviours. I had no idea that their gill covers could flare out so far. Creepy, 'cause you can see into the gill itself. It's all red and raw looking in there.

It was either bettas (betas?) or pill bugs. I wanted to work with the pill bugs, but was out-voted.


On the way back to the ol' manse, I stopped to pick up some bandages because

  • I've knitted too much and my middle fingerpads are too tender
  • I'm a big dweeb and have no life
  • I'm so hardcore! Sore fingers from knitting is so punk rock, man!

    Uhm, yeah.

    While at the large discount store, we'll call it Bullseye, I was serenaded with the lilting strains of children whining, parents doing that bent over and hissing at their sprogs, all complemented by the overhead speakers announcing indistinct crap. One woman yelled across the store to her progeny; twenty or more times. Now, if I'm calling a kid more than once or twice, I'm going to walk over and get the child. I bet that's why the kid didn't respond, too embarrassed.

    At the check-out counter, the poor clerk asked me if I wanted to open a Bullseye account. I'd get 10% off this purchase if I opened it today. No thankyou, I said, I enjoy paying 10% more for my purchase today. Now, if y'all were offering at least 10% off of every purchase made at any time with the card, I might consider it. C'mon, 10% is nothing in retail. Hell, a 10% discount is like giving a waitron a 20-cent tip--a freakin' insult.


    The cramp-a-thon in my pelvic girdle has subsided to a dull, wrenching pain. Not much longer and the cramping portion of the exclamation point will be over. Then it's all just mopping up. *snigger*


    Is everyone up on their Marseillaise? Tomorrow's Bastille Day--raze a prison in remembrance of those unethically held...say... Is there anyone else who's being unethically detained? Can you say Guantanamo? I ain't saying that the detainees are innocents, but isn't it odd that the area's become an informational black hole? Hmmm.

    Oh dear, I really should stop that darn thinking thing. It's unAmerican. I wouldn't want the Ministry of Fatherland...oops...Homeland Security on my tail.

    And if I don't add any more entries, send files in cakes!


    Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter