Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

07.28.04

In haste--tons o' math homework and tomorrow's test to study for--but had to get my writing fix. Gads. Yesirree, Bob; writing is now my drug of choice. Down to one cup of coffee a day. Also indulge in one cigarette a week--I'm not a fucking monk! Though I bet I'm playin' a little ditalino as much as a monk...okay, a nun.

Enough. You know that it's going to be a day of adversity and character-building when it starts at 5:30AM. HellKitty, the trash truck and the neighbour's sprinklers all conspired to start at once. I think there are claw marks in the ceiling from my levitation/leap.

Managed to get back to sleep for a couple of hours. Alarm went off at 10:00 (ah, a student's life) and I staggered to the kitchen. I only have one cup of coffee a day now. Woe betide anyone who interferes with my fix.

I thought I was opening the 'fridge door. It's a little sticky, so I tend to give it an exuberant tug. Unfortunately, my hand was on the freezer door, which was in line with the right side of my forehead. *bam!* "OW!" Mater called from the other side of the house, "What was that?" I'd have answered, but was too busy writhing on the kitchen floor while HellKitty demanded breakfast.

After such a brilliant start, I threw caution to the winds. Today's the day to apply for a new passport. Bounced over to AAA, got my pictures.

Here's another life truism: Passport photos are required to be awful. Pasty, bedraggled, looking like a Saturday night sidewalk pizza...oh yeah, I'm hot.

Filled out the application while waiting for the pictures to develop. Horrified to see that I had to acknowledge my long-ended marriage. Pleased that I've grown fuzzy on his birthdate.

Hied meself over to the city hall and signed in. Waited for 20 minutes to be called. Had a lovely conversation with a couple that came in after me.

I heard my name. The passport agent was thrilled that I'm fluent in bureaucratese. That went quickly, including the Oath of Loyalty. It was all I could do not to laugh, but hell. Handed over form, pictures, old passport, divorce papers (to change my name back--by gad!) and part of the fee.

Of COURSE, I had one check with me. Of COURSE you need two. One for the US State Department and one for the issuing office, or something. I don't know. The passport clerk said that I could come back with the cash--there's an ATM across the parking lot.

Danced down the stairs to the front doors. (Did I say I couldn't find the elevator or stairs to the 2nd floor passport office at first? I *thwonked* myself pretty hard.) Across the parking lot, nervously tip-toeing past all of the police cars, to the ATM.

The ATM asked if I wanted a receipt. The screen read that it was out of paper and that, (I swear I'm not making this up) "It's been a crazy day!" Then proceeded to give me a receipt anyway.

Back upstairs to the passport office, where the nice clerk remembered my name. She pulled my in front of the people at the desk, took my cash and wrote a receipt.

Then the mad dash to math class. Made it in 13 minutes, including a spectacular four-wheel drift onto the campus. Nice to know I still got the chops. *grin*

Math class was, well, math class. We had a review worksheet at the end of the class. Got into a conversation about horses with my instructor. She's got horses and it's crazy-time, foaling season.

After class, to the store for HellKitty food. I had to, otherwise she'd never let me in the house. Other necessities were bought; more freezer pops and a huge bottle of vile, cheap, wonderful lambrusco.

I got carded by the cashier. *grin*

That's an unexpectedly lovely way to end a say that started off so questionable.

Ach. Off to wander blearily through darkest algebra. Listen! You can hear the drums. The integers are restless tonight.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter