Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

08.13.04

Gracious, quite a Friday the 13th all ready. It's not even noon, PDT. Heavens.

New Jersey governor stepping down. Could someone tell me why he's stepping down? 'Cause it CAN'T just be that he's gay. Can it? It's 2004, not 1957. So what scandal was about to bite him on the ass? C'mon! New Jersey, fer cryin' out loud. (Yes, I can speak with some authority on NJ. Mater was born in Passaic. Raised in Rutherford. Spent a good chunk of my childhood going up and down the Turnpike. Still have family and friends in Bergen County. Love Rutt's Hut hot dogs.)

California revoking marriage licenses. Could someone tell me why that'd make a public commitment to another person any less binding? I wonder what would happen if all the people who got married refused to acknowledge the state supreme court's decision. Simply ignored it, and demanded the same rights without cease? What was it? Oh yeah, nobody gives you power--you just take it. So take it all ready! The only reason that the courts hold authority is because we allow it. Think about that.

Julia Child has spatchcocked her last quail. You gotta love a woman with that little pretension. I remember watching her show when I was a kid. Foods with magical names like coq au vin, filet mignon, haricots verts were exotic entrees into the world of adults.

Hurricane Charley (Charlie?) is due to hit the Tampans *snigger* today. Everyone's gone into headless chicken mode. Seems that a hurricane hasn't hit Tampa dead-on since 1921.

Today we've got both beans AND rice in Portland. Bush is in Beaverton (Oh shit, how's that going to affect my drive to school? I thought I left all that crap behind when I left DC!) at an exclusive, tickets-only event. Kerry is doing an open-to-all rally in downtown Portland. Call me crazy, but I don't trust anyone who wants the job that badly.

Wowzers.

Oh! Golly. A friend just e-mailed and said that he's located a small press. The seller is quite motivated. All we've got to do is figure out a price, haul it away, and find someplace to store it for a month or two. Anybody in Portland got room to store an 8' printing press for a couple of months?

Oh boy! Maybe I'll get the chance to learn how to work a small press. Oh please, oh please, oh please...

And I've got a math final.

Dang.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter