Reading: "A Poker Fist of Sheets" by Emily Riley

Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

09.27.04

Darlings, I was fabulous last evening. (Figure I'd blast you with the me! me! me! up front and get it out of the way.) There were pictures taken, but I have no idea if I'll ever get copies. Och, whatever. It was a blast.

Back in my element--a dark, smoky, basement bar filled with poets, writers, musicians, and artists of all ilks--aaahhhh. The utsukushi Ms. Em had her book release party at the Hole last night. Her book is A Poker Fist of Sheets, and it's...golly. It's available at Powell's City of Books (downtown and online), Reading Frenzy, In Other Words Books, adragtul bookshop, and Blackfish Gallery.

All sorts of people came. Some wonderful readings by people that popped my cortex, and gave my R-complex a good shake. Wonderful stuff. A Japanese guy got up and read in Japanese. I got six words out of the entire poem, maybe seven. It was possible to get a sense of the poem through the poet's reading--and that made it really interesting.

I got to dance with a band last night. Toast was their name. They're a punk/spoken word/world/fusion/wacky bunch o' fun. They nearly killed me with their last song, but it was great. I made tips. Wheeeeeeeee! Another bit o' scratch for my moving fund. *grin* Many wonderful compliments from friends and audience members.

Now I've got to finish a knitting commission so...

...be lovely, loud and gorgeous~

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter