Reading: "Out of the Past: Adventures in Film Noir" Barry Gifford

Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

11.23.04

Our math teacher, after telling us for the past two weeks (four classes) that our third exam would fall on November 30th, came prepared to give us our tests today.

Oh, the hue and cry that rose to the ceiling tiles. We got our wish, the test is next Tuesday.

However, and I laughed to myself, they must really want us to pass this class. It's a partnered test; two people working together on one test. Weird.

Also found out that the final is going to be mostly multiple guess, with five questions from the last chapter that we'll study. Our teacher looks for ways to give us extra points at every turn.

I ain't complaining, it's just such a wonder after so many years of arithmetic hell. I like mathematics. I don't like arithmetic.

Spent today at OLI doing boring, repetitive mail work. Stuffing envelopes. I don't mind it. Not a thrill a minute, and if I did it all the time, I'd be as mad as an Englishman in the noonday sun. Still, it's necessary work, and there's something nice about reducing a huge mess of papers and envelopes into orderly packages waiting to be sent. It's tangible. Maybe that's my Capricorn side talkin', eh?

*laugh*

I did do some copyediting, which was a nice break from envelope stuffing.

And, oh joy, I got an e-mail this afternoon letting me know that I've got some (paying) work. Sure, it's piecemeal, but every bit helps. No matter where I end up, neh?

I've received several brochures from colleges/universities. The College of Santa Fe sounds lovely, and right up my alley as a school. But at *grumble koff koff koff* thousands per year, it's not gonna happen. Unless anyone out there knows of a generous benefactor willing to invest in the education of an old broad like myself? Hell, I'd be willing to take on a group of investors and sell stock in myself.

Hmmm. I wonder if that's possible?

Oregon State may be more realistic, (and at almost $15,000 difference in cost it's much more realistic for me) though I'm applying to SoCal schools as well.

What I do depends on a number of factors that I'm trying to get lined up. I'm looking for information, trying to tie up loose ends, make sure that I'm making the best possible decision for me.

Part of the problem is that I want so many things. I'm envious of people who've always known what they wanted to be. That's never been my story. Writing, yes, I've always written. Yet it wasn't until recently that I thought it a viable choice.

I only wish I'd known, or had the gumption to pursue it when I was younger. As a child, it was considered "arty" (despite everyone in my family being avid readers) and unstable. Better to pursue something stable, something reliable. Let's not even talk about my stage aspirations.

*grin*

Well, enough. I'd best get to sharpening my nose.

Ciao, y'all.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter