Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

01.30.05

Friday afternoon I worked on finishing the costume. What possessed me to use slippery, synthetic fabric for my skirt? It was sew three inches, re-capture the fabric, whomp it into a semblance of cohesiveness and repeat.

The bra ended up not working out (I need to re-engineer the strappage so it's more comfortable) but I brought an auxiliary, emergency back-up bra. I'm getting ahead of myself.

Woke up, got food and coffee and started gathering everything that I wanted to bring to the studio. Mater came in and said, "You're taping today, right?" I agreed. "I sure hope it's on the up and up," she said, with an all-knowing, I'm-wiser-than-thou, tone in her voice.

I think she lives in a very frightening world. Sort of explains why she only leaves the house to go to work, go shopping and visit Gran'Mater. She has a certain amount of control of her surroundings in these areas. Ugh.

I said, "I think it'll be just fine," and went back to getting a sewing kit together.

Started Officially Getting Ready at noon. Call time at the studio was 2:00 p.m. Showered, plucked and shaved, contact lenses in, and a light version of the later, excessive belly dance make-up put into place.

Oh, confession. I got sucked into a wig shop Friday afternoon and bought new hair. I'm so pleased. My own hair is long enough to wrestle into a vaguely bun-shaped construct. This opens a new world of hair pieces. The nice lady at the shop suggested a ponytail. It's great. I get my hair in a bun, and the hairpiece attaches with two small, metal combs above and below my own hair. There's a drawstring that cinches everything together. It worked great. Over 12 hours of wear with very little shifting or discomfort.

Oh, back to the studio. Got there (after coming back to the house because I left the bottom half of my costume hanging on my bookcase) around 2-ish. Meet up with everyone. They did their sound check--which sounded great--I knit and watched the PAs get the set together.

We were set loose, though Destro and I had nothing exciting to do. We went and got coffee. Came back to the studio. Sat and watched the madness involved in organizing any performance.

We got into our respective costumes around 6-ish. I switched bras after a bit. Hung out. The rest of the band showed up. Other production people showed up; make-up, other cast members, other guests. Thank heavens, Mlle. E and Binkie showed up.

*phew!*

They started taping. The show will air on (in the Pacific Northwest) Sunday, February 20th at 6:00PM on Comcast cable channel 14. It's the Famous Mysterious Actor Show. I'm not going to talk much about it, keep the mystery and all that crap. Or something.

It went well though.

Afterwards, we went to Montage and ate like royalty. I had an oyster shooter which, while not a delicious, sweet Blue Point, Chesapeake Bay oyster, was good. Had pan-fried oysters for the entree. The oil in the frier must have been a little too hot. The batter coating was over-cooked. I rather like that, so it worked for me.

After dinner, we went to Bush Gardens. No. It's not a strip club--wouldn't it be a great name?--it's a Japanese restaurant/bar that has karaoke.

Could someone explain to me the Northwest's obsession with karaoke? I don't get it. And why do they keep on wanting me to sing? *shudder* I'm not being over-modest or self-deprecating when I say that me and karaoke are an unholy alliance.

Got back to the house a bit before 3:00. With all the excitement, I didn't fall asleep until 6:00AM.

Colour me, dog tired.

*grin*

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter