"We're coming to get you, Barbara."

Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

03.01.05

It's Tuesday. I'm half-asleep. Had a lovely long weekend in SoCal. (Sorry M., but I didn't think you were up for visitors!) Pleased to say that the weekend's objective ("the mother of all sloth-fests') was met, and exceeded to a ridiculous degree.

Movies watched:
The Big Lebowski
Shaun of the Dead Which, if you haven't seen it, stop reading this, go find, and watch it now. Go on. Shoo!

People I love seen:
two

Cats I love seen:
two

Amused as hell at all the painfully self-conscious people. It's as if they're always posing for some unseen camera.

Strangers I made smile, simply by genuinely smiling at them:
two, at least

One brunch out at Venice Beach. I keep looking for the freaks that are supposed to be there. I didn't see anything particularly unusual or shocking. No, I'm lying. A teenage girl who has all ready had boobage enhancement is rather odd to me.

The rains in SoCal finally stopped, though Laurel Canyon was closed for most of the day Monday due to fears of unstable earth. Apparently there are people who cannot fathom that in building on the side of a cliff in SoCal, no amount of blue plastic tarpaulins and bricks are going to keep the hill from doing what its geology dictates it must do. What is the thought process? Let's see; shall I build on sedimentary rock/earth (ahhh, liquefaction) on the side of a cliff/hill/mountain in an area known for its earthquake activity? The real estate agent said it was okay. Actually, I hear that one strategy is to put gigantic hooks/anchors into the bedrock--basically mooring the house to the ground.

I don't understand it, but there y'are. *sigh*

Favourite sight on the local news? A pool that, in one piece, cut loose from the hillside and went bobsledding down. The footage of the pool showed that it even still had water in it--not muddy--but crystalline and blue. Or I could have added that part in for a better story--but that's what the picture in my head is. Ach. Maybe it's a concrete illustration of Schoepenauer's Triumph of the Will. In short (very short and simplistic), we believe what we want to believe.

Flew back last evening. The flight was very full. The electronic check-in wouldn't give me a seat assignment, though it did give me a boarding pass. *phew!* Found out at 7:15 that I had a seat on that flight. The flight left at 7:35. I knew I was going back to Stumptown. Sat next to patchouli boy, much to my chagrin. Happily, he didn't put in on with the enthusiasm of a two-year-old. Annoying, but not so awful that I had to wrench out the tray/table and beat him to a bloody pulp. Thank goodness, because it's so difficult to get bloodstains out of carpet.

As if.


If you're Stumptown-ish, mark Thursday, March 17th on your calendar. That evening, the 'Vinos (and myself as Belly O'Dancer) will be playing the Doug Fir for St. Patrick's Day. More information as plans develop.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter