Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

09.05.05

Somehow managed to miss Treluv at the airport. It would have been helpful to have an actual flight number, or originating city, or airline. Waited at the airport for an hour and a half, went over to his place. He was passed out in bed. So I dropped off the diet Coke that I'd gotten, and got back to the house at about 02:00.

Argh. Oh well. If I hadn't done what I did, I'd have been unable to sleep. So, in the end, it's all about my comfort.

So, uhm, yeah. Camping. Camping lite--because we weren't in the back country, really roughing it. But camping lite is quite enjoyable. *grin*

Woke up yesterday morning to the sun breaking through the trees. Hip-high ferns covered the rainforest floor--an intense green carpet that captured the light. Moss hung from the trees and everything felt alive.

CC cooked breakfast for us omnivores; same as dinner, minus the hot sauce (for me). I had my cola to stave off the no-caffeine headache.

Then the troops started arriving. Barreling up the road like schoolkids let loose, or office workers on a Friday afternoon.

One of the other campers, J, drained his truck's battery. I got Tora turned around in about a 10X10' space, and got J's truck jumped. Then I continued to turn Tora so I could face out--the others marveling at his dexterity. Or my sense of his size. Or both. I don't know.

Everyone got suited up. I demurred, not really being prepared, and wanting to see the lay of the land--quite literally. All day long there was a lot of shouting, cursing, crashing through bracken, and the *pap* *pap* *pap* of CO2 canisters shooting paintballs. Each game was bracketed by the sound of a gong clanging. Periodically people would come up the hill for water, to clean up, and hugs. I was the designated Field Hugger, and performed the job admirably. Though I forget to grab a mask and couldn't go onto the field when someone, just once, called for a field hug. Dang. That would have been funny. Me walking across the play area, lavender bandana around my head, arms up, shouting, "Field hug! Field hug!"

I wonder how we would play it so that I wouldn't betray the hug-ees position?

At the end of the day, JR handed me one of his guns.
"Wanna play?" he asked. I did. After I'd shot out that gun's canister, he handed me a rifle. Whee! V. said that I should aim for the further tree, so I did. Hit it seven times out of 10, square. "I wanna be on your team. You can play sniper." That sounds good. *evil laughter*

Today is all about catching up on other stuff.

Go. Be fabulous.

Added at 19:25; Geeks with muscles at the end of a long day. I'm in the middle--don't I personify Designated Field Hugger?

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter