Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

11.19.05

Out at the Mothership this afternoon. Finally getting the chance to check up on everyone's diaries. Goodness. We're all having mad adventures, aren't we?

I went to the Very Christian thrift store this morning. I want another set of bookshelves, but couldn't find anything worthwhile. Managed to get some kitchen items, a sweater, and a baseball bat...for under $6.00. *yay* The Very Christian radio station wasn't at deafening levels this time.

I was creeped out by a group of people running around; some sort of shop volunteers. They had on electric-blue, button-down shirts with a Corinthians verse stitched over the right breast. The shirts were all firmly tucked into waist-high waistbands of the trousers. An aura of cult-like rigidity hung over them like the scent of lavender in a maiden aunt's closet. Just don't look 'em in the eye and it'll be okay, I reminded myself.


Mater is concerned that I'm closing my eyes to relationship possibilities. I can understand, but what's the rush? I'm alone. A solo act. Let me revel in that. I need to define myself as me, not in relation to anyone else. That's how she is, though. Even as a teenager she pushed me to date--something I've never been good at.

What she doesn't understand is that right now I'm too wobbly, too confused, and too much of a mess. I got to get my feet back under me. Learn that my gut is the best indicator--and to trust muh belly.

I have some good male friends; guys who, I hope, will help me build trust in the gender. The sex part? That's on hold, because I make such a hash of things. Besides, I just installed my new shower massage chez Xat.

Practical and fun.

I think I'm too intense. Some would say passionate; I dunno.

I'm a mess. At least I'm dealing in my own stumbling, bumbling way. If nothing else, I'll be a wee bit wiser. That counts, neh?

In talking to other women, it seems to be a common theme. I hear complaints that guys are "confused"; or once things become real (i.e. intimate), they lose interest.

I wonder if it's not related to the rampant consumerism of this country. The salesdroid's promise of something outside of oneself that's going to make things/self all better--a promise that's never going to come true. The promise that there's "something" better on the horizon. It creates a panic and a restlessness that's anti-relationship, anti-willing to try (at the first sign of ANY difficulty, they're off like cats sprayed with water), and anti-adult.

Ugh.
Or that's not it at all.


I'm off to take apart a Mothership bookshelf to take home. I'm tired of boxes on the floor.

*grin*

Go. Be fabulous.

Keep your fingers crossed; my new bosses are writing up a pay increase proposal for me this weekend.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter