Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

11.30.05

Get this.

My "company" has already given me a raise of a whole 25 cents per hour. So now I am making the princely sum of $9.00 per hour. They claim that the shop doesn't support enough business to pay me more. Nor does my position (or any future position) justify any more than $9 per hour.

Okay. Eight hours at $9 per hour equals $72/gross. They don't pay any health benefits, vacation, or sick leave; basically, if I'm not there, they save $72 a day.

Okay. Let's take a look at today's cash register total (and it was a very slow day)...$710.56. Take out my gross salary and that's, hmmmm, 638.56 left to pay the other two employees (who aren't making a lot more than me), and pay for the shop.

Okay. That's just one day. A slow day. And I made about half of it myself, with one sale.

Guess what? I've got a job interview to work as a barista tomorrow morning.

If they offer, I'm taking. Funny bit? It's in the lobby of the same office building where the copy shop is. Best part? With tips it works out to about $3-4 more per hour. And making coffee is my only real duty; not like here where I'm doing 16 different jobs.

Un-fuck those tight-ass corporate progeny of syphilitic white supremacists who move their lips while reading street signs.

Still, not surprised by the response. Disappointed. Amazed at the refusal to negotiate...

Oh! And this! I got this e-mail this afternoon. The great, hairy, hanging stones of these sumbitches is truly a marvel.

"I�m sure by now you have heard bits and pieces from others about some of the exciting changes coming for L****QUICK. One of the things we will be doing is to make sure all center staff members attend an Integrated Marketing Communications class at Clackamas Community College. This is one step in educating our employees a bit more about our direction.

I am attaching drafts of job descriptions for the main center positions. At this point the plan would be for you to attend this course, which is college accredited, beginning in March or our next earliest class.

At this time, we have designated you to fill the Integrated Marketing Communications-Operations or IMC-O position.

Please read through the attached job descriptions and call me with any questions.

I will be visiting each location over the next few weeks to speak with each person individually about their designated position."

First, I am appalled that they think I'm going to stick around. (What balls, eh?) Two, I've been designated as the whatever-the-fuck position they want to put me in? It hasn't been offered, discussed, or negotiated. Nope. They've decided that's what I'm going to do.

I am almost without words to describe the utter idiocy of their behaviour.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter