Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

04.29.06

"A half-size burrito? Babychops, that wouldn't fill up a goldfish, would it?" -note from Hissand Tell

The half-size burrito that I had for dinner yesterday was about 15cm long and about 6 or 7cm across. Filled with rice, black beans, pico de gallo, cheddar cheese, lettuce, lime/cilantro sauce, and hot sauce.

*grin*

An American half-size burrito is plenty big. In the good ol' US of A the majority have substituted quantity for quality when it comes to food. (And television. And movies.)

Don't get me wrong, I love good food. The crunch-snap of a really fabulous garlic pickle fished from a barrel of spices and red wine vinegar. The rich, creamy, spicy taste of pizza as mozzarella strings between your mouth and a (properly) folded wedge. Tiny explosions of buttery pastry as your teeth close on a croissant. An avocado, simply sliced and served with a wedge of lemon and a sprinkling of salt. Blue crabs, boiled with Old Bay Seasoning, dumped in a huge pile onto a newspaper-covered picnic table, and eaten with a ton of friends outside on a hot, humid, summer evening. Drinking, of course, Natty Boh'. My grandmother's apple pie. Caviar. Prosciutto on fresh, sweet melon.

Mmmmm. Yes. I like food. However, I don't need 16 pounds of anything to make me enjoy it more. A slice of pie tastes yummy. A whole pie is delicious--and I'll be sick, bloated, and unable to move for the next 12 hours.

Fast food shops are the worst. I don't often eat fast food at McDonald's, KFC, Pizza Hut, etc. But when I do, I am amazed at the size of the portions. It's no wonder that Americans are getting fatter and fatter. Even the child-size portions are ridiculous--and that's what I generally order.

Most of the time, more is simply more. Not better.

Mmm. Time for breakfast. And coffee. Mmmm.

Be fabulous.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter