Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

09.08.06

A brilliant week. Kinda.

Saturday I got a thank you note from my father. It was thanking me for sending a sympathy note to my grandmother. Then my father said his same old schtick; "I'd really like to keep in touch with you and hope you'll share with me what has been keeping you away." This is the same line he's used for umpteen years. What it really means is that I'll have to keep in touch with him, he'll get to dispense advice that has no basis in my reality, and I'll end up feeling crappy that I'm somehow not good enough for him.

Feh.

Although there's a part of me that doesn't want to lose all contact, the fact is that he hasn't been part of my life for 28 years. He kept better contact with my ex-. Yes, my ex- who called me stupid for 15 years.

I'll probably write a quick note; chatty but not filled with detail. I can see myself playing up any triumphs--which father will downplay with advice on how I could have done it better.

The kicker in the note was his enclosed business card--he's gone from cop to realtor. Realtor. *sigh*

Monday was work on J's bike. Finally got him running. Yay Viv!

Tuesday was go into work at 13:00. Worked with the Idiot. She's sweet. She's willing. She's got the motivation of pig gristle. Got off work, headed home to a quiet evening. D called, asked if I was going to the motorcycle meeting. Oop. Of course. Found out that people there think that J and I are a couple. It is to laugh. Just because I've been riding bitch with him doesn't mean we're an item. Tried that once. Not so much the good experience. Met D at the BOG. J and I were playing a Penthouse Pet photo match game. I kept on getting distracted by the "artsy" photos of nekkid womens. Who comes up with this shit? Left. Got honked at as I got into Tora. ?!

Wednesday, D and I cracked open Bub's crankcase. My clutch was all stuck together, so we pulled all of the disks, sprayed 'em with a ton of brake cleaner, and put it back together. I learned a valuable lesson; always (always) wash your hands after playing with solvents and/or chain lube. Taking out my contacts was a thrilling demonstration of the power of chain lube. Oh my dog. Been wearing my nerdy glasses until my right eye gets back to normal.

(As I write this, I only feel like there's a spider in my eye--not a Buick.) (Progress.)

Also on Wednesday, found out that the coffee shop scheduling maven halved my hours for next week. Not cool. Not cool at all. I'm not a college student, and this job isn't supplemental income. Harangued my manager into figuring out how to get me at least 35 hours. I mean, jayzus.

Thursday; talked to DJ about wheels. I'm going to check them out next week. Here's hoping. Went to Movie Madness after work and rented The Leather Boys and Hell's Angels '69. Found 'em both in the cult section under biker movies. Watched them with J.

Friday. I've been writing quotes on a little chalkboard at work every day. Today's was, "Rudeness is the weak man's imitation of strength." *Eric Hoffer This one is getting quite a response. I'm wondering if I can make some scratch by doing semi-fancy calligraphy quotation plaques.

Tomorrow is chock-a-block with silliness. There's the adult soapbox derby. Great potential for disaster; grown-ups, alcohol, and gravity-driven vehicles going down Mt. Tabor. I shudder.

I will ride Bub across D's backyard tomorrow. Oh yes. The clutch is fixed (fingers crossed), he's running, and I've got to get him between my legs at least once before summer's officially over. Damnit.

I'm tired and lacking motivation. Argh.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter