Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

10.09.06

Today I am playing minder to Mater. Mater-minder...she just had massive oral surgery and her new dentures placed.

She's a drooly, drugged, wobbly mess. And I think we startled the nurse in the recovery room. The nurse called me back, and pulled a chair over for me. Mater would have none of that, and pulled me onto the recovery couch with her. Managed to unhook her pulse monitor, and jar the sphignomenometer, but everything calmed down after a bit.

Mater, being Mater, wrapped her arms around me and asked if I'd eaten. Several times. Reassured for a minute, she'd put her head back down. Then right back up again to ask if I'd eaten, and that she loves me.

After she'd gotten seated upright, she wrestled with the gauze in her mouth. Her response to my, "How is it?" was a succint middle-fingered salute. *laugh* That's my mom.

She just laid down. I'll probably run out for a bit, get some stuff. With any luck she'll sleep for quite a while. She said that I could go home, but I wouldn't feel right.

I'm waiting for the numbness to go away and the pain to kick in. While she was in surgery, I picked up some prescribed painkillers for her. I want to be around to help out with that.

Whoop.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter