Mmmmm. NyQuil.

Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

12-23-03

The day of birth was nice. One of the best presents? A gift certificate to Powell's bookstore. What's so great about Powell's? Books, books, and more books. They also sell used books and they shelve the old books with the new books. I've found so many almost-forgotten treasures in their stacks.

Gosh darn, and now I've got to go and spend more time there. Ooooo, darn. I've been lusting after a hardbound set of The Lord of the Rings. Somehow, somewhere, my old mass market set disappeared. That's the beauty of meeting books again, even when you don't recognize their faces, you know their hearts.

I got a new printing of my Mother Goose book! It's the Charles Addams Mother Goose. It helps explain part of why I'm rather out of step with the average Joe.

A quiet day, chez nous. The sun couldn't quite decide whether or not to come from behind its cloudy veil. The traffic was typical, with people behaving in their normal clear and level-headed fashion. *ahem*

I pulled up to an ATM to make a deposit. There were two cars in front of me, and the first car was taking an abnormally long time. Three times I watched the driver's arm reach out of the car. One more time, I thought, and I'm getting out and saying something.

It happened. I hopped out of the car, walked up to the envelope dispenser, opened the dispenser and said,

"Hey, how many more transactions do you have? Three? Four?" The two young men looked at me with surprise. A minute later they'd finished and drove off. I mean really. Were they raised by wolves?

No. If they'd been raised by wolves, they'd have been much more aware of their environment.

The woman directly in front of me managed to finish her transaction in record time as well. Oh dear.

Oh, here's a silly, waste-of-time, survey that I wrote: xatone

-- if you're so inclined.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter