Cath. Bowen: For your born writer, nothing is so healing as the realization that he has come upon the right word.

Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

03.22.04

Tired, sore and happy. Yeah, I had a good weekend. The nigh-interminable Portland winter has lifted for a preview to spring. Winters here are no where near as harsh as what I grew up with, but they're grey, grey, grey.

Daffodils are blooming and I went to my first barbecue of the season. It was a combined barbecue and finish off the pony keg from the weekend before last get-together. And me not even a beer drinker . . . oh, I did my bit.

I got myself an obscene T-bone for the BBQ portion of the day. (Non-omnivores may want to skip the rest of this paragraph.) I salted and peppered it. I slapped it on the grill. I ate it. Hell, I'm still full from eatin' that thang. Mmm-mmm.

Six of us over the course of about 12 hours drank, roughly, 92 beers. We lost one participant after a couple of hours. Another one stayed until after dark, but the few, the proud, and the very silly tapped out the keg at about 2:30 Sunday morning.

Spent most of Sunday recovering and being an utter drain on humanity. *grin* A bit of a hangover, just a headache. Caffeine and time took care of it. Got a little sun on my shoulders.

Today I wandered into the Salvation Army. While checking out the little kids t-shirts, I heard tuneless humming. It took me a while to identify the source, because it was just low enough to be difficult to trace, but loud enough to be really fucking annoying. I don't know if the woman was using sub-sonics or what, but the sound permeated the entire store, like the smell of a dead mouse left in an Adirondack tent for three weeks in August.

A mite unpleasant.

I left without getting anything. Tomorrow I'll be going to the Very Christian thrift store, earplugs embedded, and ready to dig.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter