anon. | Time wounds all heels.

Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

05.24.04

Monday-whee.

Last night I was the semi-sacrificial poet at the Rabbit Hole. The fabulous MC asked if I was feeling brave, did I want to read and would I go first after the intro? I said something about no new work, sex poems *mutter mutter*. He replied that Oregon law requires me to read sex poems any time I get up to read. I'm flattered, but I'm beginning to feel like a one-trick pony. *laugh*

I read four poems with many asides about sex. The last poem made the keyboardist in the backup band say, "Oh," with surprising vehemence. That's a lovely compliment.

Later, another woman came up to chat with me. She congratulated me on my work and said that it's so cool to hear a woman's voice, particularly such an honest one. (Here's where I get all pleased with myself.) She also said that she'd heard I was a good poet and wasn't disappointed. Heavens! Me? Good poet? Golly. I write what I write. As long as it gets better, I'm climbing the correct ladder.

As I left, another poet said that I "made his beard quiver" and that hadn't happened before, ever.

*deep belly laugh*


Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter