Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

06.13.04

Today's a red-letter day for me. One year ago I started my first blog. *grin*


Next week I'm going to be in New England, visiting Gran'mater. I'm looking forward to familiar scenery and a sense of time. I miss things having history. Not that the stuff back East is particularly old; it's that there's a certain gravitas that's not here. I am going to try to squash in East Coast things that I miss--maybe a drive to the beach (all 10 miles of this New England state's shoreline), real(er) pizza, Concord grape jelly...

Most of all, I'm visiting Gran'mater. I hope to convince her that I should start organizing her writings. As one writer to another, I would like to preserve her voice. I'm sure there are parts that she'd prefer to keep to herself--I can understand that--but whatever she's willing to share would be great.

It would be a great read. She grew up in New York City during the 1930s. She's witty, dry, intellectual and funny as hell. I'd love to share her words, because I love them so much. Her account of Gran'pater's 20+ year odyssey of re-doing the bathroom is killer.


I've been on-line this morning, looking for stuff that fulfills 'travel book' criteria. It's a delicate balance. I crave tales that are intelligent, but not pedantic. I want books that are easily-transportable; heavy books that are light-weight.

A big day of laundry and packing lies ahead. Whoo-hoooooo!


Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter