Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

07.19.04

Felt like shoppy-girl yesterday afternoon. I got all dolled up and went out. Hell, had to go grocery shopping anyway--might as well be girly. Besides, I'm living in the 'burbs and the diversionary choices are limited.

Found myself wandering through a clothing store, looking at the people wearing too few clothes (and too tight!) and thinking My heavens, y'all are so pretty. Why don't you dress to show it? Dear heavens! Have I become one of Them? Eep.

Then the clothing itself. Oh my heavens. Being a woman Of A Certain Age, I no longer feel compelled to wear skirts that facilitate gynecological examination. S'truth, I'm tired of seeing people's thighs, plumber's decolletage, and bellies--whether they're conventionally pretty or not.

I'm looking for a simple, A-line skirt. One that hits at the knee and is made of natural or lightweight fabric. You'd think I was asking for a sane, workable Middle East policy. Jeepers.

I guess all I can do is haul out the old Singer, buy a pattern and re-learn how to sew. Ugh. But if I can't find what I want, I might as well make it myself. At least I'll know it fits and it's a fabric that I like.

Enough of me and my tiny, proscribed world. I must head off to school and the beginning of the four-week algebra class or Help! I'm awash in a sea of integers and I just felt an equation slither up against my leg!

Dang.


Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter