Reading: Oh, it's on the blog.

Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

10.14.04

Tora Toraku's problem was more simple than a fuse...it was bulbs. Oh well, I didn't know, and the electric has always been wonky on him. Now I know why the right, front, amber light hasn't worked in a long time--somehow, I got the wrong bulb in there. See? I can't be trusted with vehicular electrical stuff, no matter how basic.

I'm an idiot, but I'm comfortable with that.


Was pleased to get to math class this morning, and discover that the test had been upgraded to a take-home test. Woo-hoo! Now I get to take me and my sniffly, sneezy, sore-limbed self back to the house and do the test.

Well damn, frell me dead, and w00t!

I've all ready gotten most of the test done, and have done the next round of homework. Go figure.

Get this, there's still no confirmation of my in-class status from the instructor.

*giggle*


Started reading a novel last night called Lit Life by Kurt Wenzel.

"This is not a novel to be tossed aside lightly, but thrown immediately and with great force." -D. Parker

More true words were ne'er spoken.

The only other book that I've attempted that caused such a visceral response was a piece of dren called Dating Without Novocain. Oh, the horror. The horror.

Both are of the Brett Easton Ellis school of literary ambition. That is; filled with storm and fury, but ultimately, there's nothing

DWN is one of those wanna be fluffy, female-centric, romantic comedies where the lead figures out that she wants to be with the one man who's always there for her. I can't believe that it takes her a whole book, filled with the sort of wacky misadventures in dating that Hollywood lurves, to figure it out. Day one, chapter one--boom. Put the book down, because it's done.

Lit Life is that sort of Manhattan-centric, daisy chain, circle jerk story that is a waste of money, time, effort, and paper. It's so self-aware that it hurts. Rather than writing something simple, the author chose to emphasize the prettiness of his descriptions, sacrificing clarity for style. Every page resonates with, "Look at me, aren't I clever? Aren't I in the know. Aren't I hip?"

Euwwww.

It would have benefited from a heavier-handed editor.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter