Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

11.14.04

Ah, Sunday afternoon. The first cup of coffee has been drunk, the comics have been read, quality cat in the lap time has been spent. What now? What could possibly add to the excitement?

Aha. What I did last evening.

Last evening, I got a call from Binkie asking if I was still interested in seeing Treluv and BB perform their work. Bien sur, it gets my heinie out of the house and that has to be good for my sanity.

Went downtown, into "old" town, to a theatre space called, Tribe. There was another play going on, with lots of shouting and metal clanging. However, the space we were in was a huge room, with a small, raised stage in one corner, against the picture/shop windows. There was a bar opposite, selling beer, juice, and the inevitable fou-fou coffee drinks.



Aside: I'm going to open a coffee shop that sells regular and de-caf coffee, and good pastries. I'm going to charge a dollar for each cuppa, first refill free, and no fancy crap. Wonder if the novelty would make it work? I'd wear a polyester uniform, snap my gum, and take no shit. Hmmm.


At any rate, the show was hosted by Pecos B. and it was called Palabras a tu mama.

The performers were earnest, and played well to the small audience. The poets had a lot to say. The two people who sang, though their styles were worlds apart, were soulful, melodic, and powerful.

I left during the last act, a band called Soylent Gringo. No reflection on them, I was tired and cold.

What is up with unheated art spaces? I understand that money's an issue, but gee whiz. I'm so tired of being cold while trying to experience people's work. If I ever open performance space, one of the first things I'll address will be the comfort of the artists and the patrons. A happy, warm audience is an audience that will return. Happy, warm, comfortable performers can perform better--thus upping their chances of making a living from their art.

Or maybe I'm being naive. *grin*

Tonight, it's off to the Hole, uhm, Noir. It's BB's release party for his book, Mbili. He's got a swing band playing, Swing Amiss, and I expect a great deal of silly, civilized behaviour fueled by whiskey and/or wine.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter