And the little screaming fact that sounds through all history: repression works only to strengthen and knit the repressed. -Stei

Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

11.16.04

The story of ea_spouse continues. At last look (late this afternoon) the comments were at 30 pages. Wow.

In my opinion, it's about time that the gaming industry took stock of its employment practices. They can't claim to be start-ups in a struggling new industry. Not anymore.


Another thrilling day in Stumptown. Foggy and atmospheric this morning; making it nigh impossible to maintain a determined and cheerful mien whilst slogging to math class. Still, I persevered and was only a couple of minutes late.

Of course there were tech issues to contend with. It's wonderful fun to pay full price for the privilege of being beta-testers for the new technology building. If I had my druthers (which I don't, and am not quite certain what a druther is or where I would store it) all of the students would get a pro-rated refund to account for lost time due to technical issues. As long as I'm dreaming, could I get a sturdy Arabian gelding with limpid eyes and a soft mouth? Or a curly Appaloosa...

Went downtown to OLI where I discovered that one of the employees spent summers at a camp in the Adirondacks not far from my family's cabin. We knew a lot of the same places. There was much shrieking and gasping as we tossed names back and forth.

After I left OLI, the day took a turn towards the weird. There was an older gentleman, wearing a white, evening tuxedo (y'know, tails and all) and Mickey Mouse ears, playing (badly) bits and pieces of Big Black Rat music. He knew the refrain from "It's a Small, Small World" which he played 15 times in a row, never in the same key, and ended with a bizarre flourish. He knew the m-i-c-k-e-y-m-o-u-s-e part of the Mouseketeers theme. He played that only three times, but still with the gasping wheeze of a strange ending.

Got on the train (the wait was short, thank whatever), found an actual seat (praise the goddess of commuter seating), and settled in. One stop later, a tweaker (i.e. meth-amphetamine addict) sat behind me, and kicked the back of my seat all the way out to the 'burbs.

Whee.

Oddly, it didn't bother me too much. Poor guy, he can't help it. Though I couldn't have taken it all the way to the end of the line. GBH, dude, get used to it. (Oooo, ain't she butch from the safety of her computer?)

This evening, I've got wild times planned. *koff* Math homework, continuing work on my almost completed skull sweater, then reading, and to bed.

I've made a modification on the sweater because the skull and crossbones, while cool and kinda fun to do, ate up too much time. I'm childish and impatient. Now there's just one skull and crossbones and it's on my left sleeve. It's not a terribly accomplished sweater, but it's my first. Hell, completing the dang thing is a milestone for me. *grin*

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter