Collating is so zen. ~ Delores Herbig "Dead Like Me"

Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

03.10.05

Telephonically waylaid by the manager of another store in the chain, I agreed to work a six-hour shift tomorrow afternoon. That's after working the four-hour shift in the morning at my regular place.

Oh dear.

I should probably start drinking the espressi now. Hell, it's money and I am in dire need. Not so much for the money itself, but for the freedom that it allows.

It's gonna be interesting around the ol' manse for the next few months. Since Grand-Mater is ailing, Mater is thinking about moving in with her. That would be in New Hampshire. Step-Pater is looking at a restaurant in Ocean City, Maryland. He might be moving there for a few months while the business gets underway. Me? I'm still looking at schools and trying to get some scratch socked away for my next move.

Waaah! Like I said, it's gonna be interesting.

Today I re-collated 7,500 pieces of paper. The papers were in numeric order, but our crack staff at the printing plant couldn't figure out how to keep the numbers in order while they did their part of the job. *sigh* The Mangler let me wear her tiara (it's got pink crystals!) while I did the collating. The tiara helped make the job much more fabulous. It didn't hurt that the headgear also made people smile. I got a little loopy in the middle of the second hour of shuffling papers and danced in the back room until I felt better. Dancing always helps, neh?

Oh! If you get the chance, go check out Dead Like Me. I just saw the first season on DVD. Golly, dang, wow. Dead Like Me is a series on the Showtime network. C'mon, it's all about comedy and death. Well-written, well-acted, and a treat to watch; and has some beautiful moments that encapsulate some of life's truths.

Go. Be fabulous. Me? I'm going to eat. I think one banana, two cups of coffee, a mint, and two orange/chocolate niblets since 6:00 this morning (it's almost 5:00PM) ain't quite right. It can't be healthy. So. FOOD!

Another thought: I just found this (surprisingly) fascinating blog, English Cut. It's written by a bespoke (he explains what "bespoke" means) tailor on Savile Row. It's refreshing to read someone who loves his work. He drops fascinating historical tidbits right and left. Go check it out.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter