Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

04.21.06

Thursday, I worked a regular day. Felt decadent as I left at 13:00. It was gorgeous; warm, sunny, and the allergans were flying. Went home, grabbed the DVDs that were due, and went to Movie Madness.

While checking out, I leaned over and said to the dreadlocked girl behind the counter, "I got a movie so horrible that I couldn't finish watching it." She apologized. I laughed. "Don't get me wrong, I love crap movies. I've seen some that stink to Jupiter and beyond. But Way of the Vampire was too horrible for words." She offered to put a warning label on it.

This is why I love Movie Madness. Seems that some movies are so awful, so vile, so crap, that the clerks have the right to mark them as such.

Then she apologized again for my dreadful experience. I said, "Playing film roulette is part of the fun of movie-viewing. Besides, it's good to have fodder for those 'worst movie ever' conversations, y'know?" She smiled and nodded.

I left with three other movies. Feeling rather horrid, I got Return of the Living Dead ("More brains!"), and Ice from the Sun. To balance my horror, I got Black Adder V: Back and Forth.

Came home and snuggled into my nest. On the floor against a bunch of pillows and flat on my back, television on, and Black Adder playing. It was amusing. Especially the bit about Napoleon and Wellington.

Threw Return of the Living Dead on and fell asleep. This was actually part of my Thursday plan; an hour (or more) nap, then on to tango class. At 17:55 (dang, these phones'll tell you almost anything--don't know that I need that much precision in my life) Johnny called. He offered dinner (a burrito) in exchange for "carting his ass around." Ehhh, why the hell not?

Got up, took a shower (because I'd overslept and hadn't taken one that morning and felt coated,), headed out to Johnny's. He was working in his 1972 BSA Lightning. Then we talked about art--ain't we highfalutin' eh?--and headed out to supper.

Filled to the gills with burrito, we went to the acme. Chris was working the door. A coupla beers, come conversation, and BAM! it was 20:00.

Oy gevalt.

Took Johnny to his house, dropped him off. Got back home and into ultimate sleep preparedness mode by 20:32.

Because today was another double shift extravaganza. Yay! What made it fun was the espresso bar guy had to come in. Our bar blew up yesterday; flooding into the lobby and all over the carpet. Whee. I had hoped that it would be quiet, but customers were coming out of the woodwork.

My co-worker, D, mentioned how crazy it was. I said that I was the cause. That I am a chaos magnet, a maelstrom of madness. I apologized.

Be proud; today I got a tip simply for being a geek. As I rang up a sale for two customers, the stupid register wouldn't do what I wanted it to do. Grrrrrr. I cursed and flailed. One of the two customers said, "Huh. Must be a Micro$oft product." I said, "Yeah, all we need to do is get a nice Linux OS in there and it'll all be good." The other customer laughed and said that was worth a tip all by itself. She threw a dollar into the tip jar.

Now it's time to write, drink water (too much coffee and I'm dehydrated), nosh a little something, and watch me some horror. Oooo-eeee.

Tomorrow, Wordstock.

Be fabulous.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter