Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

05.11.06

Just got back from my very first Krav Maga class. Highly amused by the butch boys huffing and puffing. Secretly pleased that I was able to keep up...pretty much. All those years of dancing and that bit of tai ch'i really help.

Now I've got my official Krav Maga shirt, pants, wrist wraps, mouth guard, and jump rope. Oof, what a silly woman I am.

Ended up getting paired with an older woman. She's a rank novice as well. I can tell that she's not real comfortable with the idea of strikes and blows. There's one other woman in the class. Of course when we got tripled it was the three women. It must be a combination of butchness and males raised not to hit women. That's fine. I just want to learn the moves.

We worked on "hammer fist" tonight. That's where you strike with the outer edge of the hand. Also worked on basic punches. Yay!

Managed to do three sets of 10 push-ups in combination with running and punching a pad. Did I feel foolish? Yes. But I was pleased when I listened to the guys whine about this exercise. It wasn't that bad.

I think my attitude is different too. Don't want to be a bad ass, just want to be able to defend if I can't get away. Almost broke out in mad giggles during the "getting away from the choke-hold" practice. All I could think of was John Cleese and the self-defence against fruit class skit.

*snicker*

I'm off to bed. Mmmmm. Gonna be sore, but good sore, tomorrow. Probably have some bruises on my wrists, so I'll look terribly butch. Or like I've been wearing handcuffs...oh well.

Be faboo.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter