Most recent posts:

Last Entry - 06.15.07
Homeward Bound - 05.31.07
- - 05.24.07
A Job? Please? - 05.24.07
- - 05.16.07

Archived entries

Leave a note?


People to visit:
marsist
hissandtell
awittykitty
dangerspouse
niceguymike
ms-do
arc-angel666
crazy4muffin
zencelt
science-boy
randh
almostnormal
plop blog
quoted

Click for Portland, Oregon Forecast

05.30.06

Took a long, long, long walk yesterday afternoon.

Walking perspective is different. I tend to rush from A to B without seeing anything. Silly way to live.

I like looking at houses and having the time to admire the porches, or the careful arrangement of plants. Walking by roses and marveling at the magenta velvet of their petals in the sunlight. Getting caught in the green stare of a calico cat. The determined stride of someone shopping with purpose, or the slow stroll of couples in their own world. The quick smells of plants, coffee, garbage as I count the blocks slipping away beneath my feet.

Got back to WahferThin Manor with my DVDs and settled in. A bit later, a friend called. They were going down to the park to watch kickball. Kickball! Oh my goodness. Said I was feeling reclusive...then changed my mind. I spend too much time alone and I get all mopey.

Off to the park. A full-fledged kickball game was going. They used the biggest, red, playground ball that I've ever seen. It was like they were kicking Mars around. So many people! I had no idea.

Met up with my friends. We sat and watched for a bit. Then Chris got twitchy and had to play. True to form, he dominated. It was great. Then the dodgeball game started. We decamped to the Vern. Pooled our change, and bought a pitcher. Happily, another friend was already there--with another pitcher in place.

Stayed up a little too late. Drank a little too much beer. Staggered home, and to bed.

Nice day.

Back one. ||||| Forward one.

  • Profile
  • Diaryland
  • Search other pages
  • Site Meter